Other blogs about Cornelius Castoriadis (in English)

(Blog-posts in Greek are HERE)

  • NOTE: This blog-list does not include URLs that are not blogs. For a comprehensive listing of all URLs, i.e. everything on Castoriadis that I ever found on line, use my Castoriadis links: http://del.icio.us/omadeon/Castoriadis

kastoriadis_photo.jpg

1) Castoriadis blog

  • Discussions on the philosophy and political thought of Cornelius Castoriadis, hosted by Study group 8 in the Nordic Summer University (NSU)

2) Food for Thought. [Castoriadis]

(February 28, 2008) Hey guys, I just thought I’d share this beautiful passage about individuality, society, and freedom, from one of Castoriadis’ essays, “The Imaginary Institution of Society”. [I am obssessd with him now, by the way. And I think you should be, too.] —Ray – «Big Table Project» blog

“…I wish to be able to meet the other person as a being like myself and yet absolutely different, not like a number or a frog perched on another level (higher or lower, it matters little) of the hierarchy of revenues and powers. I wish to see the other, and for the other to see me, as another human being. I want our relationships to be something other than a field for the expression of aggressivity, our competition to remain within the limits of play, our conflicts – to the extent that they cannot be resolved or overcome – to concern real problems and real stakes, carrying with them the least amount of unconsciousness possible, and that they be as lightly loaded as possible with the imaginary. I want the other to be free, for my freedom begins where the other’s freedom begins, and, all alone, I can at best be merely ‘virtuous in misfortune’. I do not count on people changing into angels, nor on their souls becoming as pure as mountain lakes – which, moreover, I have always found deeply boring. But I know how much present culture aggravates and exasperates their difficulty to be and to be with others, and I see that it multiplies to infinity the obstacles placed in the way of their freedom.”

3) ‘RETHINK! REVOLT!’ BOOK FORM«Big Table Project» blog

I – Individual freedom is impossible without social freedom, and vice versa. Cornelius Castoriadis, philosopher and radical thinker, describes freedom as something that can only be achieved when the social individuals take a direct part in the formation and implementation of the their institutions

4) Why Castoriadis is a revolutionary (2006) « Into The Pudding

A great passage from Cornelius Castoriadis, in The Imaginary Institution of Society, on why he is a revolutionary:

I desire and I feel the need to live in a society other than the one surrounding me. Like most people, I can live in this one and adapt to it, at any rate, I do live in it. However critically I may try to look at myself, neither my capacity for adaptation, nor my assimilation of reality seems to me to be inferior to the sociological average. I am not asking for immortality, ubiquity or omniscience. I am not asking society to ‘give me happiness’ I know this is not a ration that can be handed out by City Hall or my neighborhood Workers‘ Council and that, if this thing exists, I have to make it for myself, tailored to my own needs, as this has happened to me already and as this will probably happen to me again. In life, however, as it comes to me and to others, I run up against a lot of unacceptable things, I say they are not inevitable and that they stem from the organization of society. I desire, and I ask, first that my work be meaningful, that I may approve what it is used for and the way in which it is done, that it allow me genuinely to expend myself, to make use of my faculties and at the same time to enrich and develop myself. And I say that this is possible, with a different organization of society, possible for me and for everyone. I say that it would already be a basic change in this direction if I were allowed to decide, together with everyone else, what I had to do, and, with my fellow workers, how to do it…

5) THE SPECULATIVE PERFORMANCE – Art’s Financial Futures « Continental Drift blog (Brian Holmes)

Since the heyday of “tulipomania” in Holland, financiers have been speculating on aesthetics. Their blooming folly way back in the 1620s seems to confirm a remark by Cornelius Castoriadis, on the dysfunctional yet determinant nature of the stock market with respect to real production. “Why must a society seek the complement necessary to its order in the imaginary?” asks the Greek political theorist. “Why do we find in every case at the heart of this imaginary and in all of its expressions something that cannot be reduced to the functional, an original investment by society of the world and itself with meaning – meanings which are not ‘dictated’ by real factors, since it is instead this meaning that attributes to the real factors a particular importance and a particular place in the universe constituted by a given society?” [–1–]
[……] What constitutes the imaginary of finance? How has it autonomized itself from what Castoriadis calls “social functionality,” to become the dominant institution of contemporary capitalism? Can a critical art help us to understand the power it exerts over the human psyche? Above all, can art still help to institute another imaginary?

[blog-listing to be updated regularly]

(To include your blog in this list, drop a line with a URL)

 

2 comments

Σχολιάστε

